Sowing Seeds of Perspective in Our Writing

The new year often brings about resolutions.  Lose weight. Check.  Exercise more. Somewhat check. Stop drinking so much caffeine. Uhh–yeah about that.  Start a blog. Double check–started 2nd one today.

As a former educator, I have noticed that some of my students view writing as some Holy Grail that is only given to the gifted.  So I liked demystifying the writing process and the rules and exceptions to the rules of the writing conventions.  I hope to continue doing the same for all types of readers on this blog.

As a writer, I like to share how I engage with my own writing process.  I stumbled across a writing metaphor exercise that I did with my students a long time ago.  It made me want to re-envision writing as a starting place to my resolution of working more on my writing.  For me, writing is birth.

Just like when women give birth, my writing/creation is not perfect; there are some idiosyncrasies, characteristics that are imperfect,  that others except the mother/creator may see as flaws, but  no creation is intended to be perfect. Writing is something I still love to do because the power is in the process of nurturing the creation and teasing out the best in it.

As writers, the creation becomes an extension/representation of ourselves, our psyches, our humanity—the fragility, wonder, and mortality/immortality of it—that is what writing is.

The power is in the creative process and the creation itself.

Now writing as birth is a commonly used comparison.  Here are some other metaphors that my students created:

*Writing is a puzzle.

*Writing is exercise, depending on whether you like to do it or not.

*Writing is health food.

*Writing is a useless thing only meant for the teacher.  ( Ahh…the blunt stab of honesty here.)

*Writing is traveling.

*Writing is the wind.  It has no ties, and it comes and goes when it wants to.

*Writing is a dream or a stream-of-consciousness.

*Writing is therapy.

*Writing is schizophrenia.

*Writing is a spider web because you start from a small idea and make something beautiful out of it.

So what is your metaphor or simile for writing? How do you see it?  How can re-envisioning the process help you with your own writing?

 

Feel free to comment!       Writing is or is like . . .

20121011_110056

8 thoughts on “Sowing Seeds of Perspective in Our Writing

  1. This is so beautiful and thoughtful. I have a hard time with poetics in my writing. I approach things more cerebrally, but am working on finding my voice and heart in my writing. So looking forward to following both your blogs.

    • Thanks, Julie. I approach writing both poetically and cerebrally. I think the cerebral part is taking over because I am constantly overanalyzing what I write and the poetic/muse is getting stifled.

  2. Lovely metaphors. I did a post this week that compared the writing process to falling in love: the times we ‘think’ we’re in love, but aren’t connecting, the desperate want/need to fall in love, and the true way of falling in love when we are coming from an honest place within.

    • Thanks for your comment. Gabriela, you are so right about the writing process being like falling in love. Over the weekend, I was (and still am) revising an old story I fell in love with several years ago. I had that desperate need, but it blocked the true direction of the story. I had to let the characters and the writing itself guide me to the true embodiment of the story. I liked your blog on your love of the word “without.” It’s amazing how the use of any one word can carry so much meaning, isn’t it?

      • I like the way you saw how your need was blocking the story’s path, by giving it your own agenda, rather than allowing it to breathe.
        And yes – words can be powerful. I often find that I reconnect with words I thought I knew the meaning to, until a new lesson in life allows me another perspective!

      • That is so true about reconnecting with words through new lessons in life. I subscribe to words of the day from Dictionary.com, and there was a word that resonated with me through one of my life experiences. It was the word decathect. Actually, I used life experiences to teach word meanings to my struggling high school students. It is something about experience that helps one to connect and understand a word and a concept.

  3. Hi. Your blog is a great discovery! I think writing is like composing your personal scripture. The truths in it are arrived at after a struggle or confrontation with one’s deepest self. It is also a celebration of the best possibilities of oneself.

    • Hi Shabnam! Thank you for responding. I like your vision of writing. It is like a personal scripture. It derives deeply from within us. Whether it is fiction, nonfiction, or poetry, we compose writing through our perspective of the world. I’m glad that you found my blog a great discovery. Continue to stop by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

